views : 344

2 Min Read

India batter Ruturaj Gaikwad (Photo/BCCI-Twitter)
Ruturaj Gaikwad Has Been Chosen As Team India's Captain For The Asian Games In Hangzhou

On Friday Men’s Selection Committee announced Men in Blue squad for the upcoming Hangzhou Asian Games and Batter Ruturaj Gaikwad captain of Team India.

The men’s cricket competition will take place from September 28 to October 8 in a T20 format. Asian Games will take place in China from September 23 to October 8, 2023. Cricket will be featured in the multi-sport event.  

However, veteran players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, KL Rahul, and Jasprit Bumrah will miss the Asian Games. 

Rinku Singh has been named to the Indian team for the Asian Games following an impressive showing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. Jitesh Sharma and Prabhsimran Singh were named to the squad as a result of their outstanding IPL performances.

Gaikwad slammed 590 runs in 16 matches for CSK, while Jitesh and Rinku scored 309 and 474 runs for Punjab Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders respectively. 

Meanwhile, Ruturaj Gaikwad has been named captain of the Indian team for the Asian Games, while Yashasvi Jaiswal, who is currently on a roll and will play in the first Test against the West Indies, has been included in the squad.

Shivam Dube who was the backbone of Chennai Super Kings' middle order batting (CSK) in the IPL 2023 has been recalled to the Indian team for Asian Games. 

Team India (Senior Men) squad for Asian Games: Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube and Prabhsimran Singh (wk).

Standby list of players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda and Sai Sudarsan. (ANI)

To get daily Cricket Updates & Live Sports News visit SportsBuzz.