views : 323

2 Min Read

Team India (Photo: BCCI)
The BCCI Has Announced A Strong Squad For The Asian Games As Harmanpreet Kaur Will Lead The Indian Women's Team

India’s women's squad has announced by the Women’s Selection Committee on Friday for the 19th Asian Games Hangzhou which is to be held from September 19 to October 8, 2023, at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field.

The women's cricket competition will be played in a T20 format from September 19 to September 28 in 2023.

Asian Games will take place in China from September 23 to October 8, 2023. Cricket will be featured in the multi-sport event. Harmanpreet Kaur will lead Team India in the Asian Games while star batter Smriti Mandhana will play the role of her deputy as per the latest Cricket updates. Richa Ghosh and Uma Chetry will wear wicket-keeping gloves for Team India.

India has added five players - Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque, and Pooja Vastrakar-- to its standby list. 

Cricket has been played only twice at the Asian Games

The Indian cricket team did not attend both editions. For the men's team, the Asian Games cricket competition falls during a vital time period because India will host the ODI World Cup beginning on October 5.

Cricket was played at the Asian Games only two times, in 2010 and 2014. However, India did not send a team on either occasion due to other commitments.

Team India (Senior Women) squad for Asian Games: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wk), Amanjot Kaur, Devika Vaidya, Anjali Sarvani, Titas Sadhu, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja, Uma Chetry (wk) and Anusha Bareddy. 

Standby list of players: Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque and Pooja Vastrakar. 

To get daily Cricket Updates & Live Sports News visit SportsBuzz.