views : 598

3 Min Read

David Warner India vs Australia T20I Series
India vs Australia T20I Series: David Warner Set To Miss Five-Match T20I Series Against India, Aaron Hardie Has Been Called Up As Replacement

Star Australia opener David Warner has withdrawn from the upcoming five-match T20I series against India. Warner's performance in the recently concluded ODI World Cup was exceptional, scoring 535 runs in 11 matches. As the T20I series is scheduled just four days after the mega tournament in India, many senior cricketers from either team will miss the series as part of their workload management.

David Warner out of T20I series after ODI World Cup 2023 triumph

Cricket Australia has confirmed that David Warner will return home after a demanding World Cup. He joins other players like skipper Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Marsh, who will also not participate in the T20I series. According to a statement from Cricket Australia, selectors decided that Warner would return home after a successful yet demanding World Cup campaign.

Aaron Hardie has been called up to the squad to replace him. Although Hardie made his international debut in the series against South Africa earlier this year, he hasn't achieved significant success. However, his excellent record in the Big Bash League should give him the confidence to do well. Kane Richardson has replaced Spencer Johnson, who is currently recovering from a hamstring injury. In 35 T20I matches, Richardson has picked up 44 wickets. 

Head coach Andrew McDonald will also miss the T20I series against India. After a successful World Cup campaign, the 42-year-old has been given a break, and Andre Borovec has been announced as the stand-in coach for the series. In the absence of skipper Pat Cummins, Travis Head has been appointed as the skipper.

Despite being part of Australia's World Cup campaign squad, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Adam Zampa, Steven Smith, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, and Marcus Stoinis have decided to play in the T20I series. However, these cricketers are not expected to play all five matches, given that they barely got any rest during a hectic tournament. 

As one World Cup ends, the two nations' attention shifts to next year's T20 showpiece event in the West Indies and the USA. The five-match T20I series is scheduled from November 23 to December 3 in Visakhapatnam, Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, Raipur, and Bangalore. Following the T20I series, Australia will return home to prepare for the start of the home Test summer against Pakistan in Perth on December 14.

Australia T20I Squad: Matthew Wade (C), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa