Chennai Super Kings v Mumbai Indians at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (night), T20.

West Indies vs New Zealand 1st ODI: Men in Maroon defeat Kiwis by 5 wickets

West Indies defeated New Zealand by 5 wickets in their first ODI clash in what is going to be a 3-match ODI series

The Men in Maroon have secured a 1-0 lead in the 3-match ODI series against New Zealand by defeating the Kiwis by 5 wickets in the 1st ODI game on Wednesday. Shamarh Brooks’ 79-run knock, along with a 75-run partnership with captain Nicholas Pooran was more than enough to guide the Indies to an emphatic 5-wicket victory in Barbados. 

New Zealand had put up an insufficient total of 190 on the scoreboard in the first innings with Brooks’ fourth ODI half-century coming from 58 balls. The home side managed to chase the target of 191 with as many as 11 overs to spare, with Jason Holder and Jermaine Blackwood standing strong at the crease when Indies reached their objective. As for the hosts’ bowling department, Akeal Hosein’s figures of 3 for 38 and Alzarri Joseph’s figures of 3 for 36 helped dismiss New Zealand in just 45.2 overs. 

What made this loss even more painful for the Kiwis was that it was the first time New Zealand had been dismissed in an ODI match since March 2020. The match also saw regular rain breaks which did cause problems for West Indies in terms of allowing them to take control of the momentum of the game in the second innings. However, Brooks did not allow the rain to cause any problems for him or his bat as he completed his job of run-chasing with utmost ease. 

Kevin Sinclair and Yannic Cariah made their debuts and did not fail to impress as they bowled well in the middle overs to make matters challenging for New Zealand’s batsmen. The pitch also helped them perform to the best of their strengths as it benefited spinners with bounce. 

The second ODI clash between New Zealand and West Indies is scheduled to take place tomorrow i.e. 19th August, 2022 at 11:30 pm IST at the Kensington Oval, Barbados. 

West Indies XI: Shai Hope (wk), Nicholas Pooran ©, Shamarh Brooks, Kyle Mayers, Jermaine Blackwood, Keacy Carty, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Yannic Cariah, Kevin Sinclair 

New Zealand XI: Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Kane Williamson ©, Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Tom Latham (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, Tim Southee, Mitchell Santner, Trent Boult 

Latest Posts

Pakistan won the 1st T20I clash of their 2022 New Zealand Tri-series against Bangladesh.

The 1st T20I clash between Pakistan and Bangladesh of the 2022 New Zealand T20I tri-series concluded with a 21-run victory for Pakistan. The match took place at the Hagley Oval in New Zealand.

Sanju pushed us at the end, but we stood firm: SA skipper Temba Bavuma after win over India in 1st ODI

SA skipper Bavuma was delighted and relieved after Proteas managed to overpower Samson's powerful hitting in the final overs to claim a 9-run victory over India.

Missed connecting two shots, next time I will work even harder: Sanju Samson after defeat against SA

India batter Sanju Samson on Thursday played one of the most brilliant innings of his international career as he scored an unbeaten 86, but failed to take Dhawan-led Team India.

Cricket Bat