views : 289

14 Min Read

Nathan Michael Lyon
WTC News 2023: Top wicket-takers in the current World Test Championship

Less than a week remains for the 2nd season of the World Test Championship which is set to begin at the Oval Stadium in London, England. The world’s two biggest cricketing nations, India and Australia, will face each other at 3:00 pm IST on 7th June. 

The first edition of the WTC began in 2019, and the Blackcaps won the title in 2021 after defeating India by eight wickets. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson’s brilliant innings of 52 runs in the final helped the Kiwis lift the title.

In this article, SportsBuzz will cover the top 3 wicket-takers in World Test Championship history.

World Test Championship's Top Wicket Takers

3. Ravichandran Ashwin

Indian right-arm spin bowler Ravichandran Ashwin occupies third place in this list with 61 wickets for just 1200 runs. From 2019 to 2023, Ashwin appeared in 13 matches and 26 innings; his best test bowling figure was recorded when R Ashwin took 7 wickets in their 46.2 overs for just 145 runs with an economy of 3.12 against South Africa at Visakhapatnam in India.

2. Kagiso Rabada

South Africa star bowler Kagiso Rabada has registered his name in the 2nd position in this list of most wicket-takers in the World Test Championship with 67 wickets in just 22 innings. He is a very talented player who regularly bowls in the 140–150 km/h range. Rabada concluded with 13 for 144 in the final Test against England, making him the youngest South African to ever take 10 wickets in a game. However, South Africa had already lost the series by that time.

1. Nathan Lyon

Australian right arm offbreak bowling all rounder Nathan Lyon holds the title of most wickets in World Test Championship (WTC) with 83 wickets in 19 matches and 32 innings for 2239 runs. The national selectors typically view Lyon as a Test-only talent because of his low batting ability, which frequently prevents him from fitting into the starting lineup. He is also a very talented fielder, which has allowed him to contribute significantly to the squad on numerous occasions. 

Players Matches Inns  Overs Wickets BBM
Nathan Lyon (AUS) 19 32 869.5 83 11/99
Kagiso Rabada (SA) 13  22 388.4 67 8/89
Ravichandran Ashwin (IND) 13 26 483.5 61 8/42
James Anderson (ENG) 15 28 519.2 58 6/62
Oliver Robinson (ENG) 13 25 408.0 53 7/81
Pat Cummins (AUS) 15 25 418.4 53 8/79
Mitchell Starc (AUS) 16 30 455.2 51 6/80
Tim Southee (NZ) 13 26 548.1 50 8/144
Matthew Leach (ENG)  16 25 637.0 48 10/166
Jasprit Bumrah (IND) 10 19 328.5 45 9/110