Pakistan Super League 2023

PSL 2023: The Pakistan Super League is a franchise based tournament out of Pakistan. Unlike the IPL, players are picked through a draft system and not through auctions. However, the league is run by IPL style franchise which has independent owners. The first edition of the league was played in 2015 with five teams. By 2023 it had grown to six teams. Islamabad United is the most successful team with two titles. Each team play the other twice based on a round robin format. The top four teams qualify for the playoffs with the top two playing the final.

The league was formed in 2015 but eventually began in 2016 in UAE. Pakistan Cricket Board floated the idea of PSL in September 2015 after which former cricketers like Wasim Akram and Ramiz Raja came on board as brand ambassadors. The inaugural season began in 2016 in UAE. The first two seasons has five teams. In June 2017, a new team was added to the league called as Multan Sultans which was owned by Sochon Properties. In November 2018, PCB terminated their contract citing financial irregularities. The new owners decided to retain the old name.
PSL is one of the most growing T20 leagues across the world with widespread participation from nations like England, West Indies and Australia. Associate Nations like Ireland and Scotland also sent players to participate.